Thursday, March 21, 2013


                                       Election in Mongolia

Mongolia elects its head of state - the president - at the national level. The president is elected for a four year term by the people. The State Great Khural (Ulsyn Ikh Khural, State Great Assembly) has 76 members, originally elected for a four year term from single-seat constituencies. Due to the voting system, Mongolia experienced extreme shifts in the composition of the parliament after the 1996, 2000, and 2004 elections, so it has changed to a more proportional system in which some seats are filled on the basis of votes for local candidates, and some on the basis of nationwide party preference totals. Beginning in 2008, local candidates were elected from 26 electoral districts. In the 2012 elections, 48 seats were chosen at the local level, and 28 were chosen proportionally by party
Dominant parties are the Mongolian People's Party (MPP), the Democratic Party (DP or AН), the Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party (MPRP) and the Civil Will-Green Party (CWGP). In the 2012 legislative elections, the MPRP and Mongolian National Democratic Party ran together as the Justice Coalition, winning 11 seats.
Parliamentary elections were held in Mongolia on 28 June 2012, in order to elect 76 members of the State Great Khural. The key issue during the campaign was corruption, mostly as a result of mining concessions. Due to alleged malfunctions with the electronic voting machines, the incumbent Mongolian People's Party and other smaller parties called for fresh elections with manual counting. The Mongolian People's Party had threatened to boycott the opening of parliament on July 9, and had already boycotted the last session of the previous parliament. Nevertheless, members of parliament were sworn in as planned.
Also held during the parliamentary elections was the Ulaanbaatar city council election, the first time both have been held at the same time.

Electoral system
A new parliamentary election law introduced the status of domestic election observers who are nominated by civil society organizations. Parties had to announce 48 candidates for constituency seats and 28 candidates for proportional allocation. Amongst the changes was also a quota of 20% of seats reserved for women.
On 24 May the Democratic Party (DP) and Mongolian People's Party (MPP) announced their candidates for the election. A new party that participated was Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party which was established in 2010 by members of the original MPRP who opposed the name change to the Mongolian People's Party (its pre-1924 name).
Prior to January the DP was a part of the grand coalition in government with the MPP, but later withdrew to focus on the campaign.

No comments:

Post a Comment